Posted by: Witch Doctor | January 9, 2009

Words of Dr Shirine Boardman

witch10.jpg

What’s that you’re reading, My Black Cat?

“I’m a hospital doctor and was trapped in hospital, seeing patients with the most serious forms of disease, did a lot to put it right, but I wanted to be able to deal with it much earlier. I was dealing in drugs, drugs and drugs, but there is mind body and soul in health care.

I was one of the few who managed to break free and get into community to get to roots of problem; it was eye-opening. Hospital doctors would love to do more community work, but competition and the primary-secondary care divide seems to put a stop to this. I understand the need to raise standards but integration would really get people to work to their strengths. We need a different approach and vision. “

blackcatpounce

Who said that?

Dr Shirine Boardman.

When did she say it, My Black Cat.

Round about May 2008. It is reported as a comment in a document:

“THE THIRD SECTOR AND SOCIAL ENTERPRISE IN HEALTH : THE WAY FORWARD”
House of Commons, 13 May 2008

I am of the opinion, My Black Cat, that these are not the words of a doctor who would knowingly do anything to harm patients.

Rather these are the words of someone who is trying to push back frontiers in the care of diabetic patients.

It is possible some may disagree with what she is doing, of course.

That is always the case where there is change.

After all, consider all the things we disagree about in the NHS today.

“There is a mind, body and soul in heath care”

Hmm………..

These are altruistic words, My Black Cat.

Do you suppose there are people somewhere who find altruism offensive for some reason?

Surely not.

I don’t suppose so.

Shove that whole document into my Continuing Professional Development Aide Memoire, My Black Cat, and I’ll read the whole of it sometime.

It might be interesting.

redapple.jpg a red apple ……………………

The Witch Doctor – Link to a random page

_________________________________________________

LINK TO UK MISSING KIDS WEBSITE

LINK TO MISSING PERSONS WEBSITE

_________________________________________________


Responses

  1. I’ve been attending diabetic clinics at Warwick Hospital for 13 years, yet never saw Dr Boardman once. Oh and I have one of those serious forms of the disease that she mentions, and have had other treatment at the hospital for the complications of type 1 diabetes. But clearly I was not important enough to be seen by her, nor, indeed do I have the money to see her in her private practice.


Leave a comment

Categories